Related Posts

Share This

THE WARDEN AND THE WOLF KING is a beautiful and satisfying conclusion to the Wingfeather Saga

Conclusion to the Wingfeather Saga

Conclusion to the Wingfeather Saga

The Warden and the Wolf King (The Wingfeather Saga: Book Four)
Andrew Peterson
Illustrations by Joe Sutphin
Rabbit Room Press

July 22, 2014 will dawn with mixed feelings for fans of Andrew Peterson’s Wingfeather Saga as The Warden and the Wolf King releases. On the one hand, readers will be ecstatic as they open the pages to the next book in the series. On the other hand, they will be sad, as this book concludes the series.

Just a heads up for those rare people who have not read the first three books in the Wingfeather Saga; you cannot pick up this book without first reading the other three. To give you an idea of what you’ve been missing – and encourage you to buy the books – the following is a brief synopsis of the first three books in the series. Note: major spoilers have been altered or removed.

In 2008, Andrew Peterson’s book On The Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, Book One in the Wingfeather Saga released, setting a new standard in story-telling. With a subtitle of “Adventure. Peril. Lost Jewels. And the Fearsome Toothy Cows of Skree” Peterson created a world that was at once similar and yet strange to our own world. He peopled it with characters readers would come to love, centered around the Igiby family; Janner, his younger brother Tink and their crippled sister Leeli; their mother Nia; their ex-pirate grandfather Podo and their beloved dog Nugget. Their home was at risk from Gnag the Nameless and his venomous Fangs of Dang who had crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice and pursue the Igibys whom they believed held the secret to the lost legend and jewels of good King Wingfeather of the Shining Isle of Anniera.

Readers giggled and grinned over Peterson’s brilliant characters, descriptions and story line. Many were hooked and would quote lines from the book to their family and friends.

Book Two, North! Or Be Eaten, picked up the Igibys’ story, carrying readers along with the family as they fled their home one step ahead of the Fangs of Dang, across the Icy Prairies, escaping the monsters of Glipwood Forest, evading the thieving Stranders and the dreaded Fork Factory. Peterson’s story still smacked with a quirky style of humor, but this book began taking the Igibys – and his readers – onto paths that were dark and sinister. North! Or Be Eaten won the prestigious 2010 Christy Award for Young Adult Fiction.

In Book Three, The Monster in the Hollows, Janner and his family hoped to find refuge in the last safe place in the world: the Green Hollows–a land of warriors feared even by Fangs of Dang. But there’s a big problem. Janner’s younger brother Tanner is changing and, to the suspicious folk of the Green Hollows, he looks like a monster. By this book in the saga, all evidence of humor was removed, leaving Janner’s family – and all of Anniera – with a heart-pounding struggle for survival.

Like the other books, The Warden and the Wolf King picks up exactly where the previous book left off.

Synopsis of The Warden and the Wolf King:

All winter long, people in the Green Hollows have prepared for a final battle with Gnag the Nameless and the Fangs of Dang. Janner, along with his brother and sister, are ready to fight alongside the Hollowsfolk. However, when the Fangs attacked first, the children were separated. Sea dragons lurk in the waters. Stranders crawl through the burrows. Ridgerunners and trolls prowl the land. Cloven haunt the forest. Monsters and Fangs and villains lie between the children and their only hope of victory.

The Warden and the Wolf King is a beautiful and satisfying conclusion to the Wingfeather Saga. Peterson’s young heroes have matured; although the children might still be young, they are warriors to the bone. They know what has to be done and will face their fears and physical limits to accomplish the task. The story is fast-paced, taking readers from one battle ground to another, watching as it becomes obvious that only an ultimate event will rid the land of Gnag forever.

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis, Andrew Peterson has woven a message into this spell-binding fantasy series that will resonate with readers for years to come.