EMISSARY an epic new fantasy

emmisaryEMISSARY [Book 1 of the Legends of the Realm series]
By Thomas Locke
(Revell)

In Emissary, the first of his fantasy series, Legends of the Realm, Thomas Locke (NY Times bestselling author Davis Bunn) introduces readers to a world of fantasy, magic and a young hero’s journey.

Emissary is set in a world where magic has been outlawed for centuries. The only places it is still practiced are the Long Halls scattered throughout the land—isolated haunts of wizards called mages and their long-suffering students.

Hyam is a likeable lad who will make a fine farmer someday. But he carries a burden few can fathom. As his mother slips toward death, she implores him to return to Long Hall, where he spent five years as an apprentice. It was there that Hyam’s extraordinary capacity for mastering languages came to light–and soon cast him into the shadows of suspicion. How could any human learn the forbidden tongues with such ease? When Hyam dares to seek out the Mistress of the Sorceries, her revelation tears his world asunder.

Locke is a master wordsmith, weaving lyrical prose, fully fleshed characters and a consuming plot into a tale that is beautiful and epic. Once you get into the book, it is hard to put down. Fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and Robert Jordan will love Emissary.